Iets regelen? Mijn BghU of 088 - 0640200

Tax types and descriptions

Local taxes are a type of tax that is levied on behalf of local governments. These taxes are used to fund various local public services.  There are many different types of local taxes, and the specific taxes you are required to pay will depend on which municipality you live in and whether you own property, like real estate.

Please find below a brief description of the local taxes you may see on your tax assessment. Tax rates may differ per municipality.


BghU stands for Tax Collaboration Municipalities and Water Board Utrecht (Belastingsamenwerking Gemeenten en Hoogheemraadschap Utrecht).

BghU levies and collects local taxes on behalf of the municipalities Bunnik, De Bilt, Houten, Lopik, Nieuwegein, Stichtse Vecht, Utrecht, Utrechtse Heuvelrug, Zeist and water board “Hoogheemraadschap De Stichtse Rijnlanden”. A water board is a local government body in the Netherlands that is responsible for the management and maintenance of water systems, including rivers, ditches, and lakes. Water boards are also responsible for water quality and water supply.

BghU is responsible for the collection and enforcement of local taxes on behalf of these municipalities and water board. In addition to collecting taxes, BghU determines the WOZ-value (Property Valuation) of properties located within the municipalities and the water board that it serves.

The WOZ-value is a value assigned to a piece of real estate for the purpose of determining local taxes. It is based on the market value of the property as of January 1st of the year preceding the tax year and is used to calculate local taxes such as real estate tax and water system levy for property owners. BghU uses e.g. comparable sales of similar properties in the municipality as a starting point to determine the WOZ-value of a property.

If you have questions about local taxes or the WOZ-value of your property, you can contact BghU by calling  088 – 0640200